pop-up content starts
pop-up content ends
Regional migration

Eligible regional areas

The Government is simplifying the definition of Regional Australia across all skilled visas. The definition of Regional Australia will be simplified and expanded in November 2019 to include all of Australia except for the following metropolitan areas: Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Gold Coast and Perth.
The new definition will form single continuous borders, as defined by postcodes, around these metropolitan areas. More information, and a list of postcodes defining the regional area will be available in due course.
Areas within the new regional definition will have access to the two new skilled regional provisional visas, which enable migrants and employers to access a wider range of occupations as well as receiving priority processing.
This approach will provide consistency across skilled visa programs and allow more regional businesses to access skills in short supply through regional migration programs.